PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR

Prof. Dr. Christine Selhuber-Unkel

Room: 01.366
Phone: +49 6221 54 15712
selhuber@uni-heidelberg.de
 
 
 
 

GROUP LEADER

Dr. Aldo Leal-Egana

Room: 01.361
Phone: +49 6221 54 15723
aldo.leal@uni-heidelberg.de
  • Cell labyrinths for cell migration, Tumor mimetic Microcapsules
  • RNA-sequencing, Traction force microscopy
Tumor heterogeneity | Microencapsulation | Single-cell RNA-seq | Single-cell TFM | Cell migration in 3D

POSTDOCS

Dr. Didem Aycan

Phone: +49 6221 54 15713
Room: 01.364
didem.aycan@uni-heidelberg.de
  • Fabrication of Biopolymer-based Smart Materials for Soft Robotic Microsystems
 
Biopolymers|Smart materials|Conductive polymeric materials|Stimuli-responsive hydrogels

Dr. Sadaf Pashapour

     Manager, Microfluidic Core Facility
 
Phone: +49 6221 54 15726
Room: 03.361
sadaf.pashapour@uni-heidelberg.de
  • Generation of Microfluidic Chips, Introduction to Microfluidic Workflows, Conducting Experiments in the Core Facility
Droplet-based Microfluidics | 3D Printing | Continuous-flow Microfluidics | Cell culture on chip | Organ-on-chip models

Dr. Nicolás Tobar Bächler

Phone: +49 6221 54 15715
Room: 01.361
tobar.baechler@uni-heidelberg.de
  • 3D in vitro tumor model
  • Morpho-mechanical study of cancer cells
Cell malignancy |Cell proliferation Single cell traction force microscopy | Cell differentiation Cell metabolism

Dr. Federico Colombo

Phone: +49 6221 54 15716
Room: 00.363
federico.colombo@uni-heidelberg.de
  • Biophysical properties of single-cell and organoids.
  • Two-photon laser-printed structures to mechanically stimulate 3D multicellular systems.

Mechanobiology | Atomic Force Microscopy (Picobalance) | Micro-Rheology of cells and biomaterials | Dry-mass of single-cell | 3D cell cultures


Dr. Qiyang Jiang

Phone: +49 6221 54 15719
Room: 03.361
qiyang.jiang@uni-heidelberg.de
  • Photoswitchable 2D/3D platform for mechanotransduction 
  • Rational design and synthesis of photoswitchable molecules and biomimetic peptides
Azobenzene | Photoswitchable Mechanotransduction Cell scaffold Biomimetic peptide

Dr. Trevor Kalkus

Phone: +49 6221 54 15727
Room: 03.362
trevor.kalkus@uni-heidelberg.de
  • 3D printed soft power source
  • Conductive hydrogels and ion responsive hydrogels
3D Printing | Hydrogels Soft Robotics Salinity Gradient Power Bio-inspired Materials

Dr. Maria Regato Herbella

Phone: +49 6221 54 15719
Room: 03.361
ur298@uni-heidelberg.de
  • 3D printable Multi-responsive hydrogels for biomedical applications
 
 
 
3D printing | Hydrogels Polymers Synthesis Cell culture

Dr. Barbara Schamberger

Phone: +49 6221 54 15715
Room: 01.361
barbara.schamberger@uni-heidelberg.de
  • 2-Photon polymerization for bioscience application
  • Cell migration guided by surface geometry
2-Photon laser printing | Meta-materials |3D cell culture 3D image analysis Curvature

Dr. Mohammadreza Taale

Phone: +49 6221 54 15727
Room: 03.362
reza.taale@uni-heidelberg.de
 
 
 
 

Dr. Fereydoon Taheri

Phone: +49 6221 54 15727
Room: 03.362
f.taheri@uni-heidelberg.de
 
 
 
 
 

Dr. Wang Zhe

Phone: +49 6221 54 15715
Room: 01.361
zhe.wang@uni-heidelberg.de
  • Develop the optical writing system for multiphoton switch azobenzene
  • Azobenzene characterization
Nonlinear optics | Multiphoton absorption Pump-probe Optical Kerr effect Thermal relaxation

PHD STUDENTS

Yasmin Antonelli

Phone: +49 6221 54 15713
Room: 01.364
yasmin.antonelli@uni-heidelberg.de
 
  • 3D in vitro tumor model
  • Morpho-mechanical study of cancer cells
Hydrogel Biomechanical properties Cell migration Cell proliferation Single cell traction force microscopy

Chantal Barwig

   Phone: +49 6221 54 15727
   Room: 03.361
   chantal.barwig@uni-heidelberg.de
  • Fabrication of soft microactuator systems based on stimuli responsive hydrogels
  • 2-Photon laser printing of hydrogel microstructures

 

Responsive hydrogels | 2-Photon laser printing | Soft microactuator systems | Polymer Chemistry | Stimuli responsive polymers


Stephen Casale

Phone: +49 6221 54 15713
Room: 01.364
stephen.casale@mtl.maxplanckschools.de
 
  • Biological Neural Networks
  • Organ-on-a-chip, neural:computational interfaces
Neurons | Microenvironments for cells Networks 3D printing Regeneration/Degeneration

I Chen

Phone: +49 6221 54 15713
Room: 01.364
i.chen@mr.mpg.de
 
 
 
 

Gaurav Dave

Phone: +49 6221 15725
Room: 02.361
gaurav.dave@uni-heidelberg.de
  • Fabrication of 3D scaffolds using Two-Photon Polymerization
  • Structurally adaptive scaffolds for cells to study cell-scaffold interactions
2-Photon laser printing | Meta-materials Cell-material Interaction 3D printing Biofabrication

Miguel Angel Judge Estrada

Phone: +49 6221 54 15725
Room: 03.361
miguel.juarez@uni-heidelberg.de
 
  • Desgning novel strain-stiffening structures
  • Development of an ankle bandage with active support
3D printing Mechanical properties Biomechanics Injury support Ankle sprain

Maria de los Angeles De la Cruz Garcia

Phone: +49 6221 54 15713
Room: 01.364
angeles.delacruz@uni-heidelberg.de
  • Mechanical characterization of viscoelastic materials for 3D bioprinting applications
  • Imaging of Magnetically Labelled Cells
3D Printing | Cell-Material Interaction | Magnetic stimulus | Magneto-Electric sensors | 2D-3D cell culture

Sophie Geiger

Phone: +49 6221 54 15722
Room: 01.364
sophie.geiger@uni-heidelberg.de
  • Cell-substrate interaction forces via atomic force microscopy
  • Cell stimulation on photoswitchable surfaces
Atomic force microscopy Single cell force spectroscopy Cell adhesion Cell indentation Protein micropatterns

Mona Maria Haemmerle

Phone: +49 6221 54 15719
Room: 03.361
mona.haemmerle@stud.uni-heidelberg.de
  • Conductive hydrogel interaction with living systems
  • Electrical characterization of hydrogels
 
2-Photon laser printing | 3D printing Conductive hydrogels | Electrical characterization

Mishal Khan

Phone: +49 6221 54 15713
Room: 01.364
mishal.khan@stud.uni-heidelberg.de
 
 
 
 

Ankit Mishra

Phone: +49 6221 54 15719
Room: 03.361
ankit.mishra@stud.uni-heidelberg.de
  • Synthesizing functional polymers via controlled radical polymerization
  • Engineering 3D bioactive scaffold material via electrohydrodynamic jetting
Polymer chemistry | Stimuli responsive polymers Electrospraying/spinning Microencapsulation Drug delivery

Krishna Ramesh

Phone: +49 6221 54 15713
Room: 01.364
krishna.ramesh@mtl.maxplanckschools.de
  • Directed stem cell differentiation
 
Cell culture | Stimuli responsive materials

Malin Schmidt

Phone: +49 6221 54 15725
Room: 02.361
malin.schmidt@uni-heidelberg.de
  • Biomimetic strain-stiffening structures for tissue engineering approaches
  • Fabrication and analysis of 3D cell scaffolds printed by Two-Photon Polymerization
Metamaterials | 2-Photon laser printing Mechanics 3D printing PDMS

Annabelle Sonn

Phone: +49 6221 54 15727
Room 03.362
sonn@stud.uni-heidelberg.de
 
  • Materials and surfaces for directed stem cell differentiation
Hydrogels | Polymer Chemistry | Stem Cells | Cell-material Interaction Responsive Materials

Zeynab Tavasolyzadeh

Phone: +49 6221 54 15719
Room: 02.361
z.tavasoly@uni-heidelberg.de
 
 
 
 

EDUCATION AND OUTREACH

Jonathan Schmidt

Coordinator, Digital Education
Phone: +49 6221 54 15713
Room: 01.364
jonathan.schmidt@uni-heidelberg.de
  • Coordinator for Digital Education, Cluster of Excellence 3D Matter Made to Order
  • Project coordinator for HeiKa Summer Science Academy 2023, Assistant coordinator 3DMM2O exhibition

3DMM2O | Digital Education | Hybrid Teaching | Science Communication


TECHNICAL STAFF

Dr. Mehran Mehrabanian

Technical and Academic Associate
Phone: +49 6221 54 15720
Room: 00.363
mehran.mehrabanian@uni-heidelberg.de
 
 

Florine Sessler

Manager, Biomechanics Core Facility
Phone: +49 6221 54 15718
Room: 02.361
florine.sessler@uni-heidelberg.de
  • Head of the Biomechanics Core Facility
  • Experiments with different devices: nanoindentor, mechanical testing machine, rheometer, cryotome, cryomill, CAD Design
CAD Design (3D design) 3D printing Mechanics Soft (bio)materials characterization elastic and viscoelastic properties

Tanisha Gebert

Phone: +49 6221 54 15716
Room: 00.363
tanisha.gebert@uni-heidelberg.de
 
 
 
 

Sebastian Weber

Phone: +49 6221 54 15724
Room: 00.363
sebastian.weber@cam.uni-heidelberg.de
 
 
 

Administration staff

Stefanie Marksch

Tel: + 49 6221 54 15711
Room: 01.365
stefanie.maerksch@uni-heidelberg.de

Corinna Scalet

Tel: + 49 6221 54 19850
Room: 01.110
corinna.scalet@uni-heidelberg.de

Benjamin Scherke

Tel: + 49 6221 54 19860
Room: 01.104
scherke@uni-heidelberg.de
 
 
 
 
 

Alumni

  • Dr. Tobias Spratte
  • Dr. Christine Arndt
  • Dr. Laith Kadem
  • Dr. Sunil Rajput
  • Dr. Sandra Sindt
  • Dr. Maria Villiou